Home > My Equipment Review > Don Zeck Lens Cap Review

Don Zeck Lens Cap Review

 Don Zeck Lens Caps

After purchasing the Nikon 300mm f/2.8 VRII lens, I couldn’t help but feel nervous about having the front-most glass element of this investment exposed to the world.  The  black bag-cover thingy that Nikon provides with the lens,  is bulky and I find myself not wanting to lug it around and keep up with it when I am out shooting.  Plus it takes too long to take off and put back on again in a pinch.  So I looked online for a product to solve this problem and found the Don Zeck Lens Caps at http://www.donzecklenscap.com/  .  I read a few positive reviews about these Don Zeck lens caps and since there are not a ton of options in this particular market, I decided to take a chance.  I bought mine on B&H website at http://www.bhphotovideo.com/ .  I will be honest that I was a bit reluctant to spend over $50 on what I assumed would be a flimsy plastic lens cap….boy was I pleasantly surprised!!

The lens cap arrived and I was immediately impressed by the thick and durable, though still lightweight (2.9 oz), construction of the plastic cap.   The handle is securely attached and I even gave it a few firm tugs to make sure it was properly fixed to the cap.  You can see this sturdy handle in the photos below.  The lens cap surface that faces the len’s glass has six round soft-plastic/rubber O-Rings that securely hold the cap in place (seen below).  No worries about these O-Rings, as they do NOT touch the surface of the lens glass when in place.  As mentioned the lens cap fits the end of the lens (make sure to get the correct size for your lens) and is easily removed.  The best quality about the lens cap besides the construction, is the fact that it fits on the lens even while the lens hood it on.  This is extremely convienent if you leave the lens hood on and facing forward the majority of the time (like I do).  All you have to do if reach in to remove or replace the cap….take only a couple of seconds.   Overall I am very satisfied and feel that the lens cap was well worth the investment!   Highly recommended!

 

-KSQ

http://ksqphotography.zenfolio.com/

 

Categories: My Equipment Review
  1. Slowride1
    August 4, 2010 at 12:37 am

    Thanks for the effort you have put into your blog. I just ordered the 300mm f/2.8G ED IF AF-s VRII today, and the Don Zeck Lens Cap looks like it is a great alternative to a lens hoodie. Can`t wait to get this lens!!

    Thanks again.

  2. Slowride1
    August 4, 2010 at 12:43 am

    BTW, I was wondering what your thoughts are on the stock lens foot, I have already ordered a RRS replacement foot, but still interested in your opinion. Thanks

    • August 4, 2010 at 2:28 am

      You know I am also in the market for a replacement foot or at very least a lens plate for the Nikon 300mm f/2.8. The factory lens plate is a bit short and stubby in my opinion and tough to get a good hold of if you try to carry it/hold it from the tripod foot. Plus, I am ready to invest a good tripod head with an Arca Swiss type system, and as you probably know the Nikon factory foot does not have the Arca Swiss grooves. It’s actually something I wish Nikon would remedy in their tripod foots. I mean we pay an arm and a leg for their high end professional glass and then have to spend even more money to get the correct lens foot/plate accessories. Oh well, that’s the camera industry for you. Anyway, hope this helped and glad that the blog has been useful to someone. It is nice to know that it has beneficial to some and serves as incentive to continue to add reviews and updates..plus I enjoy it! Thanks again for the comments!

      KSQ

  1. July 24, 2010 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

